TOP MUST READS

Here is a list of my favorite reads in no particular order...for now!

01

The Great Library Series by Rachel Caine

An intoxicating series of knowledge, power, corruption, intrigue, love, life, and all that is in between set in a real, yet surreal time period of the old is still embraced by the modern is present.

https://rachelcaine.com/YA/greatlibrary/

 

02

Pilgrim's Progress by Bunyan

Christian allegory of our walk through this life. Learn how you associate your walk today with so many other saints and martyrs of yesterday.

https://www.britannica.com/topic/The-Pilgrims-Progress

 

03

Grant by Ron Chernow

Want to know more about the 18th president of the United States? This in depth 900+ page biography of Grant is an amazing informative piece of a man misunderstood for the potential he possessed.

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/34237826-grant

 

04

A Small Book about a Big Problem by Edward T. Welch

This daily reading or like me, I use it as a weekly reading small devotional book will help you navigate one of the biggest problems with how you deal with disappointment and heartache. Anger a huge problem in a tiny package.

https://www.truthforlife.org/store/products/books-and-booklets/a-small-book-about-a-big-problem/

05

The Girl Who Smiled Beads: A Story of War and What Comes After
by Clemantine Wamariya

This is a work of nonfiction. A handful of the people in the book have been given pseudonyms; otherwise, everyone is identified by their real names. We have worked hard to be accurate and, just as crucial to a book like this, emotionally honest. But memory is flawed and idiosyncratic, and many of the events described here happened decades ago to a child under intense stress.

Every human life is equally valuable. Each person's story is vital. This is just one.

https://www.amazon.com/Girl-Who-Smiled-Beads-Story/dp/0451495322/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=the+girl+who+smiled+beads&qid=1561470653&s=gateway&sr=8-1

06

Real Christianity 
by William Wilberforce

This edition of his classic book from 1797, Real Christianity, is paraphrased in modern language and made more accessible to contemporary readers. This is the book that helped abolish the slave trade in the United Kingdom and called Christians to live a more authentic life of faith more than two hundred years ago. The timeless truths it contains will speak to readers in fresh ways today. Christians who eschew cultural Christianity in favor of a real faith in Christ, will find the principles here thought-provoking and applicable. The social justice orientation will appeal to readers of Jim Wallis, Os Guinness, Charles Colson, Shane Claiborne, John Perkins, Bono, and Nancy Pearcey. Readers will also find the book is a good litmus test of the authenticity of their own faith.

https://www.amazon.com/Real-Christianity-William-Wilberforce/dp/0764216317

07

Common Sense
by Thomas Payne

Thomas Paine arrived in America from England in 1774. A friend of Benjamin Franklin, he was a writer of poetry and tracts condemning the slave trade. In 1775, as hostilities between Britain and the colonies intensified, Paine wrote Common Sense to encourage the colonies to break the British exploitative hold and fight for independence. The little booklet of 50 pages was published January 10, 1776 and sold a half-million copies, approximately equal to 75 million copies today.

https://bookshop.org/books/common-sense/9781557094582

08

Before You Pick Up Your Bible
by Matt Smethurst

We know the Bible is important, but many of us struggle with it. We're not biblical experts—though we may have started enough reading plans to be really familiar with Genesis. If we're honest, the Bible often intimidates us, confuses us, and reading it doesn't always thrill us.

https://www.amazon.com/Before-You-Open-Your-Bible/dp/1912373718

 

09

The U.P. Trail
by Zane Grey

The U.P. Trail narrates the story of William Neale, a young engineer working for the Union Pacific railway. He must contend with Indians, bandits, badlands, and bad weather to get the train to the destination. The railroads are expanding to link the nation, with the celebrated golden spike marking the spot in Utah where the Union Pacific and the Central Pacific would meet.

https://www.amazon.com/U-P-Trail-Zane-Grey/dp/1491590750

 

© 2019 by Write the Frontier. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Pinterest - White Circle
  • Wyo Frontier Page
  • frontierkimz