top of page

Top Must Reads from the Frontier!

REAL CHRISTIANITY

by William Wilberforce

This edition of his classic book from 1797, Real Christianity, is paraphrased in modern language and made more accessible to contemporary readers. This is the book that helped abolish the slave trade in the United Kingdom and called Christians to live a more authentic life of faith more than two hundred years ago. The timeless truths it contains will speak to readers in fresh ways today. Christians who eschew cultural Christianity in favor of a real faith in Christ will find the principles here thought-provoking and applicable. The social justice orientation will appeal to readers of Jim Wallis, Os Guinness, Charles Colson, Shane Claiborne, John Perkins, Bono, and Nancy Pearcey. Readers will also find the book is a good litmus test of the authenticity of their own faith.

PILGRIM'S PROGRESS

by Bunyan

Christian allegory of our walk through this life. Learn how you associate your walk today with so many other saints and martyrs of yesterday.

A SMALL BOOK ABOUT A BIG PROBLEM

by Edward R. Welch

This daily reading or like me, I use it as a weekly reading small devotional book will help you navigate one of the biggest problems with how you deal with disappointment and heartache. Anger a huge problem in a tiny package.

BEFORE YOU PICK UP YOUR BIBLE

by Matt Smethurst

We know the Bible is important, but many of us struggle with it. We're not biblical experts—though we may have started enough reading plans to be really familiar with Genesis. If we're honest, the Bible often intimidates us, confuses us, and reading it doesn't always thrill us.

THE IDEAL TEAM PLAYER: 
HOW TO RECOGNIZE & CULTIVATE THE THREE ESSENTIAL VIRTUES

by Patrick M. Lencioni

In his classic book, The Five Dysfunctions of a Team, Patrick Lencioni laid out a groundbreaking approach for tackling the perilous group behaviors that destroy teamwork. Here he turns his focus to the individual, revealing the three indispensable virtues of an ideal team player.

In The Ideal Team Player, Lencioni tells the story of Jeff Shanley, a leader desperate to save his uncle’s company by restoring its cultural commitment to teamwork. Jeff must crack the code on the virtues that real team players possess, and then build a culture of hiring and development around those virtues. 

ONE THOUSAND WHITE WOMEN

by Jim Fergus

This is a novel that I highly suggest seeing the ins and outs of society as a whole. It is based on a crucial time in our country's history: The Indian Wars. This is a novel written from historical events from the eyes of a lady who had left scant diaries of her involvement in a secret trial phase of blending cultures. It is raw. It is open. It is honest. And most of all it shows that man is man and there are good ones and bad ones. Western historical fiction through the eyes of those who had to deal with the worst of it: women. A great read!

AN AMERICAN BEAUTY: A NOVEL OF THE GILDED AGE

by Shana Abe

This sweeping novel of historical fiction is inspired
by the true rags-to-riches story of Arabella Huntington—
a woman whose great beauty was surpassed only by her exceptional business acumen, grit, and artistic eye, and who defied the constraints of her era to become
the wealthiest self-made woman in America.

MISJUDGED

by James Chandler

Sam Johnstone was hoping for renewal when he took a job at a boutique law firm in rustic Wyoming. The mountains and streams of the west would be a refreshing, quiet place to start over after years of war and turmoil in his personal life.

THE GREAT LIBRARY SERIES

by Rachel Caine

An intoxicating series of knowledge, power, corruption, intrigue, love, life, and all that is in between set in a real, yet surreal time period of the old is still embraced by the modern is present.

GRANT

by Ron Chernow

Want to know more about the 18th president
of the United States?
This in-depth 900+ page biography of Grant is an amazing informative piece of a man misunderstood for the potential he possessed.

THE GIRL WHO SMILED BEADS:
A STORY OF WAR & WHAT COME AFTER

by Clemantine Wamariya

This is a work of nonfiction. A handful of the people
in the book have been given pseudonyms; otherwise, everyone is identified by their real names. We have worked hard to be accurate and, just as crucial to a book like this, emotionally honest. But memory is flawed and idiosyncratic, and many of the events described here happened decades ago to a child under intense stress.

Every human life is equally valuable.
Each person's story is vital. This is just one.

THE U.P. TRAIL

by Zane Grey

The U.P. Trail narrates the story of William Neale, a young engineer working for the Union Pacific railway. He must contend with Indians, bandits, badlands, and bad weather to get the train to the destination.

 

The railroads are expanding to link the nation, with the celebrated golden spike marking the spot in Utah where the Union Pacific and the Central Pacific would meet.

And if you can get your hands on a 2nd edition, I
highly recommend it!

EMPIRIUM TRILOGY

by Claire Legrand

When assassins ambush her best friend,
Rielle Dardenne risks everything to save him, exposing herself as one of a pair of prophesied queens: a queen of light, and a queen of blood. To prove she is the Sun Queen, Rielle must endure seven elemental magic trials. If she fails, she will be executed...unless the trials kill her first.

One thousand years later, the legend of Queen Rielle is a fairy tale to Eliana Ferracora. A bounty hunter for the
Undying Empire, Eliana believes herself
untouchable―until her mother vanishes.

SCHOOL CHOICE MYTHS: 
SETTING THE RECORD STRAIGHT
ON EDUCATION FREEDOM

by Neal McCluskey

Are there legitimate arguments to prevent families from choosing the education that works best for their children? Opponents of school choice have certainly offered many objections, but for decades they have mainly repeated myths either because they did not know any better or perhaps to protect the government schooling monopoly.

RANGER'S APPRENTICE SERIES - 12 IN ALL

by John Flanagan

An amazing young reader's series based
around medieval fantasy! I will be starting book 7 soon.

 

[Ruins Gorland, Burning Bridge, Icebound Land, Battle Skandia, Sorcerer North, Siege of Macindaw, Erak's Ransom, King's Clonmel, Halt's Peril, Emperor Nihon-Ja, Lost Stories, Royal Ranger]

bottom of page